August 2024 - Campaign Screen and Data Model

Oops, it’s August 31st. I’m sneaking this post in under the buzzer. I want to show two things I’ve been working on.

Campaign Screen

The first is a new campaign screen that offers a cleaner and clearer way to navigate among the stories. I haven’t gotten far in coding them, here’s the mobile design

And here’s the desktop version.

PC Data Model

The second is a cleaner, revised data model for the player character. You won’t notice this, but over time what defined the player has changed. My business partner, Andrew, encouraged me to clean up the model to make it easier to reference everywhere. My understanding of ink has also evolved since I started coding the original model. Rather than showing you the old, messy one, I’ll just show you what a player character today looks like, on a code level.

~ traits += (male, elf, outlander)
~ known_languages += elvish
~ str = -2
~ agi = 0
~ int = 6
~ cha = 4
~ fai =  2
~ best_attribute = intelligence
~ worst_attribute = strength
~ birthmoon = 5

PC Traits

Of note is the traits list. These are qualitative descriptors of the player character, which I can easily reference when writing. For example, here’s two alternate bits based on a trait.

{
	- traits ? male: What up, bro?
	- traits ? female: Hello, madam.
}

Or we could show special content only if pc has some combo of traits:

{traits ? (female, elf): The guard obviously has a thing for elf girls. He'll be easy to persuade.}

As of now, the list of possible traits is as follows. They also have categories if we want to check what the signify.

LIST traits = male, female, human, elf, dwarf, demon, coldblood, royal, orphan, nomad, hermit, outlander
VAR races = (human, elf, dwarf, coldblood, demon)
VAR sexes = (male, female)
VAR origins = (royal, orphan, nomad, hermit, outlander)

Thus, we can fetch a trait of a particular type with intersecting lists.

You are a {races ^ traits}.