June 2024: Character Creation and Origin Stories

Question. Are you obsessed with creating characters in RPGs? For me, it’s one of the major draws of the genre. Which is why I’ve been experimenting with different ways to go about it in Veiled Age. I think there are many valid ways to approach character creation, so it comes down to what way best suits my design goals.

If you asked me whether I generally preferred an RPG to have classes or a classless system, I’d say I prefer classes. They’re more thematic. Classes paint a picture. A fighter, a cleric and a thief walk into a bar.

However, they’re not ideal for every game. Much of what usually defines these classes is the list of special abilities it uses in battle. And while monsters will definitely be killed in Veiled Age, this isn’t a game with a battle system at all. Classes are a mechanics-oriented concept. As a writer, I think asking the player to choose a “class” at the beginning might be overselling what I’m really trying to do with a mechanics-light game.

Classes can make NPCs redundant

More importantly, there’s something about player-chosen classes that bugs me in party-based RPGs: redundancy. For example, say you meet a thief who can pick locks. They want to join your party. Welp, that’s too bad, because you already chose the Thief class for yourself, so you don’t need them. The fiction says the character is very special, but the game says they have the same skills as you. Maybe you decide to drag them along anyway to get that juicy subplot or to listen to their quips in the elevator. But it still feels off in terms of game design.

For Veiled Age, I think that thematic element we enjoy from classes could be approached differently: by having these archetypes expressed fully by specific NPC companions, while the player character brings something else to the table entirely.